From P2P Foundation
Jump to: navigation, search

All pages in this category will eventually be moved to Category:Bios

This is a directory with small bio's, mostly taken from the web, about individuals involved somehow with P2P. It is not reserved for the big names, but to any peer that makes contributions, even microcontent. Feel free to add your own name as P2P researcher, author of an article, etc...

For a Who's who in Asia, see here [1]

Instructions: To create a page, create a file in this format name, First name. End the entry with the following by adding Category Individuals between double straight brackets.

Please note the format, namely Lastname, Firstname. I have noticed some collaborators are entering different formats. I have not deleted them but please note the official page for updating is the one following the original format.

The regular database entries are listed after the P2P Hall of Fame.

The P2P Hall of Fame

P2P Pioneers: Yochai Benkler [2] [3](peer production), James Boyle [4] [5](Intellectual Property), David Bollier [6][7] [8](Commons), Lawrence Lessig [9] [10](legal infrastructure); Richard Stallman [11] (free software), Eric Raymond [12] (open sources); Philippe Aigrain [13](Cause Commune); Tim Berners-Lee [14] [15] (World Wide Web); Peter Suber [16] [17] [18](open access movements)


P2P Business Theory: Benkler, Yochai (peer production), Malone, Thomas [19] (coordination theory), Webber, Steve (open source production); von Hippel, Eric (diffuse and user-generated innovation; Kane, Pat (Play Ethic); Weinberger, David [20] (Cluetrain Manifesto); Salvino, Salvaggio (P2P, open source business research), Arvidsson, Adam (social innovation)

P2P Culture Theory: Lawrence Lessig (free culture), Trebor Scholtz (distributed creativity), Alex Bruns (cooperative culture production); Peter Suber [21] (open access movement), Philipppe Aigrain (Cause Commune)

P2P Economic Theory: Yochai Benkler [22] (peer production), Maurizio Lazzarato, Yann-Moulier Boutang (cognitive capitalism); MacKenzie Wark (hacker/vectoral class analyis; Philippe van Parijs (basic income; Herman Daly (throughput economics; Bernard Lietaer (monetary reform), Margritt Kennedy (monetary reform), Wim Nusselder (quarternary economics); Erik Olin Wright (egalitarian markets); Chris Cook [23](market 3.0 and open capital); Richard Barbrook (Hi-tech gift economy; Margret Kennedy [24] (monetary reform); Bernard Lietaer (monetary reform)

P2P Educational Theory: P2P Educational Theory: George Siemens [25](connectivist learning theory); Jean-Francois Noubel [26] and Pierre Levy (collective intelligence); David Wiley [27](open content and open education); Steven Downes [28] (open education and participatory learning);

P2P Governance Theory: Peter Barnes (trusts), David Bollier (commons; Bob Jessop (global governance), Susan Crawford (internet governance; Andrew Lih (collaborative governance; Paul B. Hartzog (Panarchy); Michel Gensollen [29] (management of peer production groups; Erik Douglas (peer governance and democracy); George Dafermos (studies governance of free software at TU Delft), Ryan Lanham (p2p core principles); Vasilis Kostakis (Partner State and Peer Governance)

P2P Legal Theory: Lawrence Lessig [30] (Creative Commons), Yochai Benkler, James Boyle (IP developments), Nicholas Bentley (intellectual contributions), Eben Moglen (FSF counsel), Peter Suber (Open Access), Jessica Litman (Digital Copyright); Peter Drahos [31](the philosophy of intellectual property and information feudalism)

P2P Media Theory: Dan Gillmor (participatory journalism), Mark Pesce (Hyperpeople), Geert Lovink (tactical media)

P2P Political Theory: Philippe Aigrain (participatory and open access movements); Michael Hardt and Toni Negri (multitudes), Miguel Benasayag (networked counter-power), John Holloway (revolution without power); John Lebkowsky (extreme democracy), Tom Attlee (deliberative democracy); Stephan Merten (GPL Society); Raoul Victor (free software and Marxism); Kevin Carson (libertarian mutualism); Cory Doctorow [32] (digital rights), Dale Carrico [33](technoprogressivism [34]); Geert Lovink (tactical media and cooperation); Roberto Unger [35](empowerment and connectionism); Vasilis Kostakis (Partner State and Peer Governance)

P2P Science Theory: Albert-Laszlo Barabasi [36] (network theory)

P2P Social Theory: Pekka Himanen (work culture, Howard Rheingold [37] (Smart Mobs), Andreas Wittel (network sociality); Clay Shirky (network behaviour); Kris Roose (tertiary culture), Jan Soderbergh (post-Marxist network analysis); Philippe Zafirian (work sociology); Kenneth Gergen (relational self); Timothy Wilken (synergetics); Manuel Castells [38] (network society)

P2P Spiritual Theory: John Heron (cooperative inquiry), Jorge Ferrer (participatory spirituality), David Skrbina and Henryk Skolimowsky (participatory mind); Susan Greenwood (magical consciousness); Remi Sussan (magickal practices); Loren Goldner (the cosmobiological tradition); Steve Talbott (participatory epistemology)

P2P Technology Theory: Richard Stallman and Eben Moglen (free software), Eric Raymond and Bruno Perens (open sources); David Reed (viral communicators and mesh networks), Tim O'Reilly [39] (Web 2.0); David Gothberg [40] (P2P Algorithms); Graham Seaman [41] (open hardware and free hardware design)


Dave Winer [42], created open media standards such as RSS and for podcasts; Bram Cohen, Bittorrent; Justin Frankel [43] (Winamp media player application, Gnutella peer-to-peer system; Linus Torvalds (Linux kernel); Ian Clarke [44](Freenet peer-to-peer system); Nicholas Reville of Participatory Culture (Broadcast Machine, Get Democracy TV, Videobomb); Tim Berners-Lee [45] (World Wide Web); Ward Cunningham [46](inventor of the first Wiki)

The Database Directory

Pages in category "Individuals"

The following 200 pages are in this category, out of 300 total.

(previous page) (next page)
(previous page) (next page)